Financial Support

Navigating Waivers

Medicaid home and community-based service waivers allow people with developmental disabilities to receive care in their homes and communities instead of in long-term care facilities, hospitals or intermediate care facilities. These programs are called waiver programs because, under current law, eligible people with disabilities and chronic conditions are entitled to facility-based care, but, home and community-based care is considered optional. Therefore, states must apply for “waivers” from the federal government for Medicaid to provide home and community-based services.

Waivers allow people with disabilities to have more control over their lives and to remain active participants in their communities. Eligible individuals must meet specific financial criteria and have a level of care specification. Eligible individuals can be of any age.

Types of Waivers

Waivers are one way to pay for services that support someone with developmental disabilities living on their own, with family, with a roommate, or with a provider through Ohio Shared Living. Services provided through any type of waiver, are all Medicaid approved services. The Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (DODD) administers three different types of waivers.

Level One Waivers – services provided by a Level One Waiver can include: Adult Day/Vocational Habilitation services, individual employment, respite, specialized medical equipment, and transportation.

More about the Level One Waiver.

Individual Options (IO) Waiver – services provided by an IO Waiver can include: Adult Day/Vocational Habilitation services, shared living, community respite, homemaker/personal care services, assistive technology, individual employment, and transportation.

More about the IO Waiver.

Self-Empowered Life Funding (SELF) Waiver – services provided by a SELF Waiver can include community respite, participant-directed homemaker/personal care, participant-directed goods and services, individual employment, support brokerage, and residential respite.

More about the SELF Waiver.

How is a Waiver Funded?

Waiver funding is provided by local and federal dollars. The Butler County Board of Developmental Disabilities (BCBDD) provides approximately 40 percent of local dollars in order to receive 60 percent of federal Medicaid dollars. Waiver funding is a long-term local commitment. The Board continually projects the local funding needed now and in the future in order to assure the continued financial obligation can be sustained.

How can I learn more?

If you already receive services and supports provided by Butler County Board of Developmental Disabilities, contact your Service and Support Administrator. You may also call (513) 785-2800 or email the Eligibility Department.

Waiting List FAQ

  • Wait List Assessment (WLA) Tool
  • What the Assessment Determines
  • What’s Next